Die Mauer

Metaphon 008 – 2019

CD in 6 panel fold out sleeve
Edition of 500 copies
Release date: November 2019
Price: 13 euro

11 track album of previously unreleased music for a ballet choreographed by Philippe Talard.
Composed, performed and recorded by Michael Ranta in 1988/1989.

Mixed by Michael Ranta and Stefan Deistler.
Mastered by Earlabs.
Program notes for the ballet by Karla Nieraad.
Translation by Christoph Heemann.
Production and artwork by Timo van Luijk.
Design by Meeuw.


1.Prélude   5’10”
2.Danse Générale   15’22”
3.Lost in the Dark   5’24”
4.Lamento   4’24”
5.Underground   5’17”
6.Absurd    11’45”
7.Confrontation   5’44”
8.The Wall is There   6’04”
9.Soloist over the Wall   3’36”
10.Bells in Space   5’27”
11.Apocalypse   7’20”





The Wall is There

Bells in Space



Yuen Shan

Metaphon 006 – 2015

LP version: 2LP, gatefold sleeve with insert, 300 copies
Price: 32 euro
CD version: CD, gatefold card sleeve with booklet, 500 copies
Price: 15 euro








16 track composition for pre-recorded sounds and live percussion performed by Michael Ranta. (entirely different work from the Yuen Shan CD released in 2005). All material previously unreleased.

Yuen Shan (Round Mountain in chinese) was conceived in 1972 and finalised in 2014. It’s a major work in Ranta’s oeuvre (his first solo release in almost 25 years), highly personal and spiritual. A musical cosmogony in 4 cycles based on different levels of ancient asian spiritual principles.

1. Yin-Chu
2. Gu-Luan
3. I-Shr (2014)
4. Li-Huai

…All returns to the origin, to the silence, to the void.
This is the way of nature.
All things arise and disappear.
One observes their eternal recurrence…